Lady Tigers Win 3rd Straight WPIAL Crown, 14th Overall

Posted on:

The North Allegheny girls’ track and field team won its third consecutive WPIAL crown and 14th overall on Tuesday at the WPIAL Class AAA championships at West Mifflin High School. The 14 overall district titles for the Lady Tigers matches Butler for the most in WPIAL history. The NA Girls defeated Norwin (78-72), North Catholic (113-31) and Mt. Lebanon (81-69).

First-place performances for the Lady Tigers were delivered by senior Erin McGoey (3200-meter Run), senior Sophie Aglietti (Pole Vault), sophomore Audrey Maxwell (Discus Throw), senior Jamie Frisco (Shot Put) and the 4×800 relay team.

Placing second were junior Wren Kucler (1600m Run), sophomore Mackenzie Winning (400m Dash), senior Eva Kynaston (3200m Run), junior Izzy Costa (Long Jump and High Jump), freshman Amara Daugherty (Javelin Throw), sophomore Taylor Neese (Shot Put) and the 4×100 relay team. Taking home WPIAL bronze were Kynaston (1600m Run), junior Kendall Lucas (800m Run), sophomore Lindsay Breneman (Pole Vault), senior Lauren Burks (Discus Throw and Shot Put) and junior Anna Fiffik (Javelin Throw).

The NA Boys also competed at the WPIAL championships and finished in third place. The Tigers defeated Penn-Trafford (98.50-51.50) but fell to Norwin (91-59) and Butler (97-53). There were several outstanding performances by the Tigers, including senior Zach Duckworth and junior Jack Yatchenko who won WPIAL gold in the Pole Vault and Shot Put, respectively.

Second-place efforts were turned in by junior Jack Bertram (1600m Run), senior Cameron Chmura (Shot Put) and the 4×800 relay team. Bronze medal winners included freshman Brady Brinkley (400m Dash), junior Grey Lowman (300m Hurdles), junior Nicholas Humphries (Long Jump), junior Dylan Langdon (High Jump) and sophomore Nathan Orlando (Discus Throw). The 4×100 and 4×400 relay teams also placed third.

For a look at all results from the WPIAL Class AAA team championships, click here. 

The WPIAL individual championships will be held on Wednesday, May 15 at Slippery Rock University.